Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Sign Up

Design and Media Center, 1st Floor, 621 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115

View map Free Event

Supported by MassArt Photo, Institutional Advancement, and Justice, Equity, and
Transformation (JET) office

 

Pictures & Progress is a MassArt photo alumni group show arising from a
multicultural web of artists who are continuously engaging the power of
image-making to effect a new vision for the nation. The photographs in this exhibit
offer allegorical interpretations of family, community, and individuality that push the
conversation of what it means to be fully represented. Inspired by Sarah E. Lewis’
“Vision & Justice”, this show considers the transformative power of the lens in
fostering intergenerational hope and healing, a truth Frederick Douglass understood
well as the most photographed man of the nineteenth century. This cultural work
was and continues to be vital to disrupting past narratives and conjuring fresh
images in our imagination. Embracing boldness, unity, and self-reflection, this
constellation of photographic portals reveal the continuous efforts required for
America’s progress. We invite you to contemplate the shared humanity and magic
unveiled in these honest images.

Learn more about the Tyrone Maurice Adderley Series.


Reception: November 7th, 7:30 pm in the Design Media Center (DMC)
Click here to register.


Photo Alumni Artists:
Claire Beckett https://www.clairebeckett.com/
Kannetha Brown https://kannethabrown.com
Yoav Horesh https://www.yoavhoresh.com/
Kathya Landeros https://kathyalanderos.com/
Vanessa Leroy https://vanessaleroy.com/
Nigel Poor https://nigelpoor.com/
Camilo Ramirez https://www.camramirez.com/
Eduardo Rivera https://www.eduardolrivera.com/
Tavon Taylor https://www.tavontaylor.com
Zhidong Zhang https://zhidongzhang.com/

 

Curated by Claude Eshun (dc@claudioeshun.com)
Assisted by Elizabeth Hopkins and Natalie Brescia

Event Details

0 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity